History of FCS

This faculty was detached from Faculty of Social Sciences in 2013, though the two Faculties were located in the same campus until 2015. In 2015, Faculty of Communication Sciences was moved to the central campus of Allameh Tabataba'i University, in Dehkade-ye Olampik, and officially began its independent activities therein. Communication Sciences date back to earlier than 1979, when the field was actively taught in ATU Faculty of Social Sciences. However, since 2015 the Faculty offers Bachelor's programmes in Communicative Studies, Information Technology, Journalism and Social Relations; Journalism and Social Communication Sciences in Master's Degree; and Communication Sciences in PhD Degree.

FCS has 15 faculty members and 783 Students active in all three levels. Moreover, the Research Centre in Communications and Centre of Excellence in Communications are the main scientific and research centres conducting and encouraging research activities in the Faculty. A specialized library, computer room and amphitheater hall are some of the other facilities of the Faculty. The research journal is being published in this Faculty since 2015.